Missing Churchill

With new iPod firmly in hand, I’ve taken yet another late-step forward in the area of personal and home technology.

The apple (pun intended) fell far from the tree when it comes to this kind of stuff; my father who was the first person I ever knew who owned a CD player in the early 80’s was constantly buying or at least wanting the next new gadget. I on the other hand am a textbook follower as that pertains not to firms but to consumers.

I finally grabbed the bull of this latest technological ‘boom’ by the horns in December when I enticed my wife into purchasing one for my birthday. It’s become a constant companion and I’ve taken to listening to it on breaks and lunches during the week.

I’ve found pod-casting an enjoyable way to keep track of radio that I can’t hear live as well as a means for listening to non-broadcasters with an opinion. I had occasion today to re-visit a program-length interview of British historian Andrew Roberts’ new volume A History of the English Speaking Peoples since 1900.

A full three hours, it is a fine example of smart talk-radio. I was particularly struck during today’s listening by the final exchange of the evening. It is especially apropos today as we can now begin to make judgments about Britain and Europe’s reaction to aggression against their own.

From the interview:

HH: …do you see other people of the equivalent of them [Blair, Bush] and certainly we need Churchills…more than that, do you see them around anywhere?

AR: I don’t really. Um, I’m afraid…I think that Mr. Giuliani obviously showed fabulous leadership at the time of 9/11, so maybe he would be worthwhile…I think that, ah, Mr. McCain with his very forthright, uh, tough stance towards the war against terror also might prove a good leader but I’m afraid I can’t really see the Republicans winning the next election and on the Democratic side it is dire from beginning to end.

All rejoice at the fact that 15 British marines and sailors will be heading home soon and that their release was secured without bloodshed. In the bigger picture though (and there is always a bigger picture) at what price was their freedom bought?

If I’ve read Thomas PM Barnett right here, he seems to think that nothing’s changed. I’m left wondering if Tehran now wonders how easy it may be to push the West on something truly meaningful when that action is backed by a nuclear deterrent.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

