Chocolate Jesus angers Catholics

Aren’t we dealing with enough angry religious fanatics right now? Focus people, focus! It’s only chocolate.

Chocolate Jesus angers Catholics – Peculiar Postings – MSNBC.com

Artist’s chocolate Jesus angers Catholics

 

 

Updated: 1 hour, 53 minutes ago

NEW YORK – The Easter season unveiling of an anatomically correct chocolate sculpture of Jesus Christ, dubbed “My Sweet Lord” by its creator, has infuriated Catholics preparing to observe some of their holiest days of the year.

The 6-foot sculpture by Cosimo Cavallaro was to debut Monday evening, four days before Christians mark the crucifixion of Jesus Christ on Good Friday. The final day of the exhibit at the Lab Gallery inside Manhattan’s Roger Smith Hotel was planned for Easter Sunday.

“This is one of the worst assaults on Christian sensibilities ever,” said Bill Donohue, head of the Catholic League, a watchdog group. “It’s not just the ugliness of the portrayal, but the timing — to choose Holy Week is astounding.”

3 Comments

  1. I have to say that I disagree with you here Chin. I will say two things up front though. First, I am a Catholic (though I don’t practice much anymore, because I got good enough at it). Secondly, I’m not truly offended by it. I will say that I think that it is, in the very least, truly tacky. And it isn’t that it is an “anatomically correct” depiction of Christ. It isn’t that it is called “My Sweet Lord” (ugh!). It’s the symbology of it.

    Think about it this way. Regardless of your individual religious beliefs, I am sure that we can agree that to many, the pose depicted is one of the most powerful images in history. It is believed to be the sign of Christ giving the ultimate sacrifice for others as a show of God’s love. What can one do with chocolate (Hint: eat it)? Can’t you see where people at least have reason to be offended by this?

  2. Nice post. Let’s take it to the forum to discuss. I have to take the family out for a bit but will be back this evening.

  3. vegfpuh edklj qjelpr mqczh dthy jrxhivz jclbzrw


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

