Taylor Hicks Tickets: $140 !!!

The ‘American Idol” effect in play when it comes to concert tickets…

As if all the fever surrounding Idol Antonella Barba wasn’t enough to make your head explode…Now this!!

My wife was checking out shows coming to the area this summer. Lawn tickets for Taylor Hicks are $140. For LAWN!!

So, by the time you pay to park, you’re down $300 a couple to listen to Taylor frickin Hicks. That’s a car payment and I haven’t had a beer, yet. We surfed around and other acts who have actually sold some records and won some Grammy awards are similarly priced. But what happened to the day when you could see a second tier act at a reasonable price? Last summer we saw Craig Morgan for $16 a piece. And he actually had a couple top ten songs at the time.

I remember as a teen going to the first Monsters of Rock Tour. Kingdom Come, Poison, Scorpions, Metallica and Van Hagar for $35.

This summer I took my daughter to the Virgin Mobile Tour. The Killers, The Racontuers, Gnarls Barkley, The Who and Red Hot Chili Peppers for $100.

So here’s what I’m trying to wrap my head around….

For $135 I saw:

Kingdom Come, Poison, Scorpions, Metallica, Van Hagar, The Killers, The Racontuers, Gnarls Barkley, The Who and Red Hot Chili Peppers…A ten band line-up with who knows how many albums sold and Grammy Awards.

For another $5 or $140, I could see…

Taylor Hicks.

I don’t think so.

14 Comments

  1. The point you are realizing about Taylor is that in some of the other acts you mentioned, you are paying for THE NAME. With Taylor, your $140 is spent for 100% Talent, 100% devoted to fans show, and 1001% of the performer’s every moment. Consider yourself fortunate and go see someone very special-Taylor Hicks will give a show you won’t ever forget!

  2. Supply and demand, I guess. 🙂

    I went and saw him in concert (at Universal, so it was just the price of admission), and it was great. I’d probably pay $140 to see him if I had to. And I’m also assuming that you don’t equate having a Top 40 hit with talent. 😉

  3. Please! So far I believe every single Taylor Hicks’ concert has been sold out, and attendees always come away wanting more. It’s good you chose not spend your car payment on tickets for him – that way you don’t take away the space from someone who actually loves his music.

  4. My point is wrt to the price. I’m personally a Taylor Hicks fan. But for $300, I can buy the CD AND make my car payment. No one artist is worth $300. Particularly not Taylor Hicks.

  5. Sorry, I don’t buy/by it. No one is paying $140 for “just” Hicks tickets. From what I’ve seen all of his shows are resonably priced, where is this venue you are talking about and who else is on the bill …

    That Monster’s show was what … nearly 20 yrs ago?

  6. While a Taylor Hicks concert is worth every dollar you spend, $140.00 and up, is what you might pay if you do not purchase your tickets as soon as they go on sale! You will not find those kinds of prices on the actual ticket!
    There is a huge demand for his concert tickets, if you are late to the party, you will pay the price ticket brokers know they get.
    Every concert he has performed so far has been sold out!!!

  7. I don’t know how your figuring this?
    I just got my ticket for the concert at Taylors HQ site
    for 39.99
    with the drive into Denver
    an with parking
    I’m figuring to spend about 80 total?
    How far are you parking?
    Finland?
    I’d spend alot more to see him too.I saw him at Hermanns Hideway here last Sept.06 an I tell you, I’m still not quite over it.He was THAT GOOD!
    just sayin

  8. I just saw Taylor in Tampa and Orlando for $60 and $50 (which was price of universal admission) and it was money well spent. “For a second tier act”? and then in the next breathe you call yourself a Taylor fan? If you can afford the $140 I highly recommend going. It’ll be the best “second tier” act you’ll see!

  9. Where are you seeing this price..ebay?? I’ve checked all the great venues he’s touring and the prices are very reasonable…. Ebay is another story….I paid $85 for 2 tickets….great show…fantastic entertainer…especially the second half where he turns it on…just saying

  10. I wouldn’t pay $50 for a lounge singer, but there are a couple of neat little gadgets for $400 that I’d spend good money for.

  11. Wow! I had no idea that any of Taylor’s concerts were that expensive. Are you sure that price didn’t come from a resale/scalping site?

    I love Taylor and think he is a FANTASTIC performer, but I am with you. $140 is WAY too much to pay for a single act. A festival? Maybe. One guy? No way.

    That said, I have paid for travel and hotel expenses to see Taylor (and even to see LiMBO, sans Taylor), so I suppose $140 for a ticket isn’t much in the grand scheme of things. Still, it would be difficult to justify that to myself.

  12. Sorry, but I meant to ask – what venue is this?

  13. Rams Head Live (Balt. MD) $45 sold out….Birchmere (Alexandria VA) $65 sold out. But, you can win them for the Hagerstown Theatre (Hagerstown, MD) from WFRE 99.9 Streaming @ wfre.com.
    Taylor Hicks was the begining of the end for ‘Idol’, look at sanjaya or however you spell his non talented name.

  14. Hello Everyone,

    I am a golfer myself and I like to play whenever I get a chance.
    A short while ago, a very good friend of mine told me about a great golfing equipment and accessories website that has discounted prices on all their products, same day shipping in most cases and there is no state sales tax, they are paying that.
    So if any golfer here is ready to save some money on quality products at highly discounted prices, you might want to check out their site at; http://hoffmangolf.com


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

